A Grave Ommission!

21 Sep

Oh dear. On my very first NEW THIS WEEK post, I left out a book that I am actually super duper excited about. Now, without further ado, I present:

Title: The Diviners
Author: Libba Bray
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Genre: Fantasy, Historical Fiction, Historical Fantasy
Blurb: Evie O’Neill has been exiled from her boring old hometown and shipped off to the bustling streets of New York City–and she is pos-i-toot-ly thrilled. New York is the city of speakeasies, shopping, and movie palaces! Soon enough, Evie is running with glamorous Ziegfield girls and rakish pickpockets. The only catch is Evie has to live with her Uncle Will, curator of The Museum of American Folklore, Superstition, and the Occult–also known as “The Museum of the Creepy Crawlies.” When a rash of occult-based murders comes to light, Evie and her uncle are right in the thick of the investigation. And through it all, Evie has a secret: a mysterious power that could help catch the killer–if he doesn’t catch her first.
Excitement Factor: OMG.

Libba Bray is DA BOMB. Between this and Maggie Stiefvater’s Raven Boys, this is a very exciting week for new YA titles.

3 Responses to “A Grave Ommission!”

  1. Katherine Martinelli September 21, 2012 at 4:18 am #

    Oooh sounds awesome! Reminds me just the slightest of the ruby in the smoke by Philip Pullman – my favorite kinds of book as a kid!

  2. monsterika October 2, 2012 at 7:55 pm #

    Oh I LOVED The Ruby in the Smoke! I get kids to check it out semi-regularly. If you haven’t read any Libba Bray before, I highly recommend her. I just checked out her book Beauty Queens and am still waiting for the copy of The Diviners that I put a hold on.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Diviners by Libba Bray « YA or GTFO - November 5, 2012

    […] way back when I said I was super duper beyond excited to read Libba Bray‘s The Diviners? Well, that […]

Leave a Reply

