So I was on a podcast with some famous people.

15 Sep

I’m not sure why it never occurred to me to post this here, but uh…better late than never? A couple months ago my good friend Julia Pistell invited me to be a guest on Literary Disco, a bookish podcast she does with Rider Strong (yes, THAT Rider Strong) and Tod Goldberg to talk about books for young folks, being a librarian, and one of my favorite books ever, Rebecca Stead’s When You Reach MeI was hella nervous to be doing my first ever podcast (isn’t hearing one’s recorded voice always just the worst?) with someone whose face I had taped up on my wall when I was thirteen, but overall I think it turned out mighty fine. In retrospect I wish I had chosen a different, weirder book that answered the second part of Rider’s challenge a bit better, but what can you do. I got caught up in ye old QUALITY question, especially after Julia asked me to choose the best book with the best writing,  and When You Reach Me is probably one of the highest quality kids’ books I’ve read in, well, ever. So, here it is. Not 100% about YA lit but I do talk about it a bit. Have a listen if you so choose, and please share your thoughts!

P.S. Now you all know my last name! Horrors.

Literary Disco Episode 10

2 Responses to “So I was on a podcast with some famous people.”

  1. Katherine Martinelli September 16, 2012 at 6:09 am #

    Erika I loved hearing you on the podcast! You did an amazing job and led a really great discussion. Thank you for defending ya lit! You’ve always recommended the best books to me (including When I Reach You).

    • monsterika September 16, 2012 at 7:07 am #

      Aww, thanks Katherine! It was so much fun, and I’m still kind of amazed that I even got asked to be a guest!

Leave a Reply

